Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the administrative and supervising body for the county. The Marshall County Board is comprised of three members who are elected to staggered four-year terms.

Citizens from the entire county elect the supervisors (at-large) to represent the best interests of the people and the County as a whole.


Main duties of the Board of Supervisors are approving bonds of county officials, reviewing and approving the budget proposals of county departments, overseeing of all county buildings and grounds, reviewing claims and ordering payment of those claims, approving official’s reports, establishing and vacating public highways, levying taxes to raise revenues for the county, filling other county office vacancies, overseeing drainage districts, canvassing of votes for all elections held within the county, allowing/disallowing homestead, family farm, and military credit claims, and approving/disapproving cigarette, beer, and liquor permit applications on behalf of the State of Iowa for businesses established in the unincorporated areas of the county.

Board of Supervisors meetings are live streamed on our YouTube channel or, for those wishing to participate in the meeting, please see the information on the meeting agenda to join us via Zoom.